840: New Music for Guitar Trio

IKLECTIK presents,

840: New Music for Guitar Trio
Performed by What Guitar Trio 

Tuesday 17 December – doors 7.30pm – start 8pm | £8 adv / £10 otd | BUY TICKETS


840‘s next concert features music for three guitars performed by the award-winning What Guitar Trio. Much of the programme will be made up of works composed especially for the concert, including an exciting new work from Rūta Vitkauskaitė called Fractions of Time, exploring harmonies from Messiaen in fresh and unexpected ways. There’ll also be new pieces from Michael Hughes, Christian Drew, Alex Nikiporenko and James Luff, which are by-turns, sparse, energetic, hypnotic, beautiful and enigmatic.

Also featured will be a captivating early piece of Bryn Harrison’s, dating from 1997, as well as “Stjärnskruvmejsel” by Anna Eriksson – composer, sound artist and guitarist living in Gothenburg. Contrasting and complementing everything else, there’ll also be a suite of six pieces by William Lawes, originally composed in the 17th-century for lyra viols, but sounding very much at home in an arrangement for three guitars.



What Guitar Trio

What Guitar Trio is an ensemble made up of award-winning guitarists Michael Hughes, Ioannis Theodoridis and for this 840 performance Sam Cave, who is a leading exponent of new music on the guitar in the UK. What Guitar Trio explore an array of repertoire with a focus on new music. Since its inception in 2016 the ensemble has performed in venues including Wigmore Hall, Barbican and The National Portrait Gallery, and for The Greenwich Early Music Festival. The trio gained a place on the International Guitar Foundation’s Young Artist Platform in 2018 and performed at Kings Place for the IGF festival.


The concert is kindly supported by the Hinrichsen Foundation.

Photo by Ilme Vysniauskaite