Freedom of Movement Festival 1: PERMEABILITY 

IKLECTIK presents:

Freedom of Movement Festival

By ‘Unfinished’, with Angharad Davies, Bashir Saade, Bennett Hogg, Claudia Molitor, Eugene Skeef, Steve Beresford and postgraduate artists from Guildhall School of Music & Drama.

Recent political events have served to highlight the fact that borders and freedoms are critically important issues. The Freedom of Movement Festival is a series of events and gatherings bringing together artists and thinkers to consider the significance and problematics of ‘freedom’ from artistic and social perspectives.  New performance pieces, improvisations and talks will explore a range of interrelationships across geographical freedom of movement, artistic freedom and freedom of expression. The festival will focus on the medium of sound and its capacity to disrupt, permeate or circumvent perceived boundaries and norms.  Events will include improvisations, performances of open or text scores, conference performance/presentations and text readings.

Unfinished is a curatorial project by Nell Catchpole and Jan Hendrickse which seeks to explore the boundaries between artist/audience and the artistic/everyday through an ongoing series of open events, performances and publications.

Unfinished aims to generate curiosity, action and renewal.

Festival Events

Throughout the week, new works will be created and performed by postgraduate artists from Guildhall School of Music & Drama alongside guest artists and presenters.

Event 1:


Wed 13 March – 7.00pm doors /  7.30pm start |

The first event in the series presents a series of new works with interventions by guest artist Jane Cheadle. Permeability and resistance are theproperties of a cell membrane, and in the first of the freedom of movement events the artists have created a series of new performance works that explore the idea of permeability. 

 Special Guest: Jane Cheadle

Jane Cheadle was born in South Africa and lives in London. She studied History and Philosophy at the University of Cape Town and has an MA Communication Art & Design from the Royal College of Art, where she was awarded the prestigious Man Group Drawing Prize in 2006. She has worked as a sound recordist on documentary films for the Treatment Action Campaign in South Africa. She has shown her work around the world, and teaches at Oxford Brookes University.

Artists participating in the festival include

Angharad Davies

Bashir Saade 

Beatriz Ana Rola

Bennett Hogg 

Christopher Potts

Claudia Molitor 

Da Hye Clara Yang

Dilara Aydin-Corbett

Eugene Skeef

Gerrard Brazell 

Hannah Fredsgaard-Jones

Hannah Stewart

Jan Hendrickse 

Jane Cheadle 

Julia Koelmans 

Kendall Perry

Lara Agar

Miguel Morgado Picciochi

Nell Catchpole 

Steve Beresford