: Ventriloquy of Space

IKLECTIK presents, : Ventriloquy of Space

Thursday 3 March 2022 | 8pm [7:30pm doors] – Until 11:30pm

Tickets: £5 General Admission

This is the 10th  iteration of the streamed concerts series after Seamus Cater (February
2022), Parkinson Saunders (May 2021), Voice & Electronics with Sadd, Moore, Waeckerlé and Ziv
(April 2021), Greg Caffrey (IE, March 2021), Marie Cécile Reber (CH, Feb 2020), Gildas Quartet (UK,
Oct 2019), Marcus Kaiser (DE, May 2019), Stefan Thut (CH, April 2019), Jessica Aslan and Emma Lloyd
(UK, March 2019).

Our relationship to space is not just visual, but also auditory. In this concert, the corelation between
an environmental space and the sounds and music that resonate it our challenged. Michael J
McEvoy questions translation of visual image to sound through interpretation. His music is a
response to videos, and his scores invite classically trained musicians to expand their zone of
influence, from the traditional minutia of interpretation in classical music, to a wide-open form.
Cello, Guitar and Piano. Akira Sileas and Harry Whalley’s work Plangency for Cello and Live
electronics uses the reverberant space of Salisbury Cathedral. The cello activates different
resonances that are amplified and manipulated, surrounding the audience in a way that exaggerates
the resonances and materials of the cathedral. Sea of Cables uses field recordings as a basis for
electronic improvisation. In this context the environmental sound is transferred into a texture, which
is built upon by the ensemble.

Loquitur Michael J McEvoy 
Plangency Akira Sileas and Harry Whalley 
Iterate Sea of Cables

Anna Menzies (Cello), Michael j McEvoy (Piano), Akira Sileas (Electronics), Harry Whalley
(Synths), Arusik Nanyan (Voice), James Wright (Drums/Electronics)

Performed by Anna Menzies and Mike McEvoy
A piece for acoustic instruments and Video. The concept is to use the movement and
motion viewed within the moving images as a vehicle to stimulate musical gesture, as a means to
explore and develop improvisation practice. The role of the performer is to straddle the line
between performer and composer mediated by musical modes and scales. Questions arise, where
is the score located? How is nature transplanted and moved from one setting to another, what is
gained in this process? Loquitur forms part of McEvoy’s PhD by practice at the University for the
Creative Arts.

Performed by Anna Menzies and Akira Sileas
Plangency was originally commissioned by Wiltshire creative to celebrate 850 years of Salisbury
Cathedral for the Makers’ Tale, co-curated by Mirka Golden-Hann and Loucia Manopoulou. The
piece is inspired by the acoustics of the cathedral; the role of the cello is to ‘sound’ or resonate a
reverberance, with additional electronics emphasising the idiosyncratic nature of the cathedral

Performed by Akira Sileas, Arusik Nanyan, James Wright and Harry Whalley
Sea of Cables provides researches, students and staff a ‘sonic playground’ in which to improvise,
developing new techniques in improvisation with electronics. In this piece, the sounds are
mediated by a central figure, a sonic puppet master, who takes, resamples and manipulates the
sounds of the other performers. These sounds include field recordings, voice, and synthesis. The
whole is different from the sum of its parts. concert series
The concert series, is a collaboration between bookRoom and the Audio Research Cluster at UCA
Farnham, curated by Emmanuelle Waeckerlé and Harry Whalley, around their common research in extended,
textual, visual, gestural and object scores and ways to integrate or experience technology in
text/music/film/performances. The project is supported by UCA research fund.

The project is supported by UCA research fund.

“Sound system powered by AMOENUS. AMOENUS is an art organisation that facilitates, educated, curates and promotes immersive art centred around 3D sound”.